Southern Dad Reviews Atkins Meat Lasagna

Southern Dad Reviews Atkins Meat Lasagna

Lasagna1603plate

 

Atkins Meat Lasagna – “A classic pasta layered with premium ground beef and ricotta cheese in a savory Italian-style tomato sauce, topped with mozzarella cheese. Just reading the box makes a person hungry.”

0037480009010_NF_version_type_mediumForty days into the Atkins Diet with low amounts of carbs is going to cause cravings for certain foods. Of course, all of those foods are on that list of foods that someone on this diet should not eat. Imagine the happiness at seeing Atkins Meat Lasagna in the grocery freezer case. At 11g net carbs it is one of the foods with the highest carb counts.

The Rules of Induction state that the dieter should eat less than 20 grams a day of carbohydrates, and at least 12 – 15 of those much come from salad greens and other vegetables. That rules out something like this Atkins Meat Lasagna for people in the Induction Phase of the Atkins Diet.

Careful planning of meals can make this meal a reality in the OWL phase of Atkins. Calculate your carbs carefully and enjoy this meal. The picture on the box really looks pretty good. Of course, that little note at the bottom says, “Serving Suggestion.”

I carefully followed the preparation instructions. They are pretty simple. Anyone can follow these instructions. After waiting the required two minutes, I plated my lunch. I do want to meet the chef that took what was in the box and turned it into that gourmet looking entrée, because he is a magician.

IMG_2349IMG_2351

IMG_2353The big question, how did it taste? Every single bite was delicious. This is not something that I can eat often but it was more than worth the $3.79 that I spent on this entrée at my local Kroger. The meat was excellent seasoned just right. I could clearly taste each element. The pasta actually microwaved well. The sauce was so good that I did not want to waste any of it. The portion size was perfect. I felt full after eating it and drinking my shake.

I will be budgeting my carbs to enjoy this treat again.

IMG_2354

Leave a comment